My Thoughts on The Saem x Seventeen Signature Perfumes

Around late July or early August, Seventeen were announced to release limited edition signature perfumes with The Saem, a Korean skincare and cosmetics brand they were endorsing and I got really excited about it because Seventeen is one of my ultimate favorites and perfumes were something I was starting to collect. I really wanted to get my hands on at least one bottle but I decided to not join any group orders because I thought that maybe The Saem Philippines would have them here at their branches soon and I was right!

The Saem posted a teaser for the signature perfumes on their Instagram stories one day and the expected release date was about a week later. Immediately, I went into decision making mode. I actually have a description of the scents of the perfumes saved in my phone so from there, I picked what I thought would smell nice and would match my personality. I didn’t pick a perfume based on my bias. Anyway, my top five were Wonwoo, The8, Jeonghan, Jun and Vernon’s so if I ever get one, it would be among those five.

On the day of the perfume launch, I headed to the Robinsons Galleria branch of The Saem and I got very distracted by the numerous Seventeen displays they had. By the time I got there, Wonwoo’s was already out of stock I cried inside so I was left with my other four options. I ended up buying two my inability to choose just one decided it was a good day to do its thing and so, I happily went home with my Jeonghan and The8 perfumes. I also went to the SM Megamall branch to check if maybe they still had Wonwoo but it turns out, Wonwoo’s was also out of stock there his perfume is out of stock at every branch, the power of this boy! and stocks from that branch were less than the Galleria branch.

When I went home, I talked to two of my Carat mutuals and read some of the helpful reviews of the perfumes (there were no testers) and it was a bad idea because after hearing and reading what they had to say, I wanted to buy more just so I could smell them myself. I was so tempted especially with the Wonwoo perfume. I told myself that I really need to get my hands on Wonwoo’s because they said that it smells so nice and described it as the “boyfriend” scent. I lived for those kinds of scents. I went into decision making mode again and decided I’d go for a Wonwoo one and maybe one out of Hoshi, S. Coups and Jun if I ever got the chance to buy again.

The next day, despite feeling under the weather, I headed to The Saem’s SM Aura branch because after reading tweets from the day before, it’s the branch that has a lot of stocks and still has Wonwoo’s. I got there pretty early and at first I thought Wonwoo’s wasn’t there so I sank to the ground and went into frustration because this mall was quite far from where I live and I came all this way for nothing but I looked up and finally saw Wonwoo! I was actually really happy about it! Also, I ended up buying four more so I have a total of six my love for Seventeen has prevailed The Saem x Seventeen signature perfumes.

The Saem x Seventeen Signature Perfumes

The box includes a 30ml bottle of the perfume, a short note from the member whose scent you chose inside and a description of the perfume scent at the back. When it came to me actually smelling the perfumes, I had to wait because I caught a cold right after I got them. Literally. I was fine when I bought them and on my way home, just as I was about to smell Jeonghan’s perfume, I realized that my nose was suddenly blocked. For the time being, I relied on what my two Carat mutuals told me and the few helpful reviews I have found online. Fast forward to me actually smelling the perfume, here’s what I thought of them:

• Jeonghan – I have mixed opinions over this one and I think it’s a scent that one will either love or hate. It has a strong, flowery scent that becomes more gentle and bearable over time. I have to be honest, at first I was thrown off because it was a little too strong for my liking but after a few minutes I started to be okay with it.

• Hoshi – It has fruity, floral scent that’s quite gentle and it’s really fresh. I think the citrus and floral scents in this one work well together; like they have the right balance between floral and fruity making the scent of the perfume perfect. It reminds me of a cool summer, if that makes sense. It smells really good and personally, I loved this perfume.

• Wonwoo – It has a boyish scent so I guess this is why other Carats described it as a “boyfriend” scent. It smells a little musky with hints of herbal/earthy scents; like a mix of minty and musky. It’s quite a refreshing scent, I guess it’s because of the earthy scents. I sort of don’t think of it as a “boyfriend” scent, not completely at least sorry but I really do like it a lot.

• S. Coups – This one has a very sweet and citrusy scent. It’s really citrusy and fruity but it’s not overwhelming, it’s mild enough. It’s kind of similar to Hoshi’s in a way but this one is a lot sweeter and the fruity/citrusy scents are stronger. It reminds me of the colognes I used when I was younger. It smells really good and I absolutely liked how fruity it smells.

• The8 – This perfume smells really sweet but it’s not too much; it’s more like the addictive kind of sweet. It also has a soft, floral and slightly powdery scent. It’s definitely a “girlfriend” scent in my opinion and I don’t know if this makes sense but I find the perfume’s scent to be sorta dreamy and attractive. It smells so good and I’m very much in love with it.

• Jun – This one is a mix of musky and floral. It also has hints of vanilla and for me, it’s somewhat powdery. The smell is very dreamy and captivating. I don’t know why but it kind of reminds me of candy. It’s playful and at the same time, it’s a very “girlfriend” scent. I expected this perfume to smell good and it went beyond my expectations. It smells amazing and I’m so in love with it.

Among these six perfumes that I have, I think Hoshi’s is my favorite followed by S.Coups’ tied together with Wonwoo’s. Don’t get me wrong, all of them smell really great and I’m pretty sure the other members’ perfumes do too but right now, for me, those are in my top three, they are the best in my opinion. It’s all a matter of personal preferences especially when it comes to stuff like this. Well, I had fun writing this blog entry. I tried really hard with this “review” and I ended up being quite entertained so I hope I get to do something like this again. That’s it for this one.

Love,

Rhiz

Leave a comment